CHURUMURI POLL: The A-hole of the year is…?

As the year draws close, newspapers, magazines and TV stations unfailingly announce their man of the year, woman of the year, Indian of the year, product of the year, etc. So for Time magazine, 2011 was the year of the protester. For India Today, its newsmaker was Anna Hazare, as he was for NDTV 24×7. For The Week, it will be some unsung hero. Etcetera.

There is no reason to doubt these fine editorial choices, duly audited by Ernst & Young, PricewaterHouse Coopers and other fine accounting firms. But the world is not all full of heroes. The reason we have a man of the year, woman of the year, etc, is because several worthies paved the way for these worthy souls by gladly voting themselves out.

Call them the villains of the year. Or A-holes Of The Year*. Or whatever. It is they who enable our world to get its rightful share of heroes each year by their execrable behaviour, by their obnoxious conduct, by being what they are: A-holes. And you find them everywhere: in politics, business, sport, cinema, media, everywhere.

So, tongue firmly in churumuri-lined cheek, let us give them their due. Let them know we care. Let them know that their efforts do not go unremembered, unrecognised or unrewarded. Let them know we would be a poorer world without them. Let them know who they are.

Who, therefore, is your A-hole Of The Year*?


* cannot guarantee that the phraseology of this poll will meet the approval of everybody.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

25 Responses to “CHURUMURI POLL: The A-hole of the year is…?”

  1. hacckker Says:

    I would go for Sunny Leone.
    just saw new videos released even when she is inside Big Boss’ house.
    looks like she is promoted by future caretaker Mahesh’s Butt.

  2. simha sn Says:

    Kapil sibal
    Digvijay Singh
    P Chidamabaram
    Manmohan Singh

  3. Shree Kar Says:

    Nice concept!

  4. Pankaj Das Says:

    Digvijay Singh- for shooting his mouth off second day and seeing an RSS hand even in Congress hand. He would be the real A* Hole of the year.

  5. Aruna Says:

    Sri Sri Ravishankar for Jan Lokpal movement while sitting on an encroached land.

  6. Alok Prasanna Kumar (@alokpi) Says:

    Swami Agnivesh

  7. raj2717 Says:

    1. Digvijay Singh would win with a huge margin
    2. Kapil Muni
    3. Agnivesh

  8. Indu Ramesh Says:

    Digvijay Singh

  9. PRS Says:

    Minister of state Narayana Swamy

    Justice Markandey Katju

    B.S. Yeddyurappa

  10. Loyakappa Says:


  11. Rajni Says:


  12. Jay Patel Says:

    It’s end of the year today hence would like to narrow it down to just three people:

    Digvijay Singh

    Manish Tewary … Congress spokesmen

    Kapil Sibal

  13. Super Nan Maga Says:

    Kapi (sibal)

  14. Nastika Says:

    National: MMS – for his glorious inaction
    State: BSY – for his shamelessness


  15. vindy_p Says:

    diggy raja

  16. harkol Says:

    Digvijay (Doggy) singh
    Rahul (Game Changer) Gandhi
    Kapil (censor) Sibal
    Manishankar (Gas) Aiyar
    Yeddy (Site) urappa
    Gooli (open shirt) hatti Shekhar
    Janardhan (moneybag) Reddy
    Kumara (Radhika) swamy
    Lallu (Cong-Chamcha) Yadav
    Narayana (bow-bow) swamy
    Amar (fake tape) singh
    Renuka (bulldozer) Chowdhary
    Sharad (mafia) pawar

    Phew, I don’t have all night!

  17. MysooruBoyz Says:

    Problem of plenty here. Too many candidates, too little space to type… with all the dignitaries mentioned above our fearless leaders in Karnataka find no mention…so I am going local and nominating Kumaranna and Yeddi Uncle…

  18. Rastrakoota Says:

    Diggy-hands down:-)

  19. dr ramesh Says:

    All those journos who equated mahatma gandhi with anna hazare.

  20. chennaiveeran Says:

    Diggy Raja & Chidu

  21. Anonymous guy Says:

    Anna Hazare

  22. Angry Young Man Says:

    Top spot shared by SONIA GANDHI an RAHUL GANDHI. For the following reasons:

    1. Becoming beneficiaries of multiple billion-dollar scams but escaping unscathed. Does anybody here believe that they did not benefit from the multi-billion dollar scams that came to light in 2011, or that such things could have happened without their knowledge?

    2. Orchestrating the weakening and subsequent failure of the LokPal bill in parliament.

    There are of course lots and lots of others, but the gold medal surely goes to these two shameless 3rd class people.

  23. Anitha N Says:

    You shouldn’t even be asking this question when the answer is very well evident. Rahul Gandhi wins it hands down!!!

  24. sanjeeva Says:

    Diggy the joker, Sibal the more talk, less work, Yeddy the destroyer, Laloo, the buffoon, Mulayam the joker, Karuna the crook master, Voters who elect the (known) criminals, Voters who do not vote, All those responsible for not able to give a stable and strong government in Karnataka (whatever party – after all they are all same), Bangalore traffic controllers, Motor bikers who drive on footpath, carwallas who honk, honk, honk and finally WE THE PEOPLE who are like R.K.Laxman’s common man.

  25. Arun Says:

    Wow! Churmuri seems to attract a sizeable “chaddi” crowd. Agreed Congress politicos should make the list. But here are some chaddi-buddies that you’ve missed.
    Baba Ramdev
    Gadkari (man with a golden sword, land rover and a bag of cash, afraid of Yeddi)
    Yeddi & Family
    Yeddi & Govt
    Advani (for his nth rate nth grade flop Yathra, afraid of Yeddi)
    Kejriwal and Kiran Bedi
    Modi (will be Eternal A Hole (a la Kim il Sung))

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: